The lost “Sea Captain” video.

This Sunday I’m heading down to California for a few weeks of barely-earned vacation, which means – sorry, rock-n-roll history enthusiasts – it’ll be at least a month before I get the video from our performance at the Mendel onto YouTube.

Meanwhile, here’s something else you can watch. On a visit to Vancouver back in 2008 I spent a couple days hanging out with an old friend, artist Ray Statham. I should also mention that at the time, I had a beard that I was thinking of shaving off. Naturally we thought – let’s shave Michael and make a music video!

Big beard, little beard, no beard.

So I spent a couple days peg-legging around the North Shore while Ray followed me with a camera, chortling. I returned to Saskatoon; time passed; enough for me to grow an entirely new and even handsomer beard. Meanwhile I thought the video had been lost forever. But not long ago Ray turned up a copy and mailed it my way…

2 Responses to “The lost “Sea Captain” video.”


  1. 1 Delusion January 28, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Heh, that’s awesome, I love the smoking a pipe whilst brushing his teeth 🙂

    your Peg Leg looks extremely uncomfortable

  2. 2 Raye Chevrier November 14, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Glad to come across this – knew this was my Uncle
    Would love to hear more about him


Leave a Reply

