Blogging into the void.

Although this site gets a decent amount of traffic – more than I ever expected – it comes almost exclusively from search engines and flows to just a couple of posts, the ones dealing with the films I’ve Loved You So Long and Let The Right One In. (If you Google “let the right one in crotch shot” I’m one of the top results. If you’re wondering why people would search for that, you obviously haven’t seen the movie.) I also get some visits to my articles on Nancy Mitford and Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita. After that, the stats fall off fairly precipitously.

So it doesn’t really matter what I write here; most days I’m talking only to myself. Still, I’m always reluctant to use my personal blog to promote the company I work for. I don’t want to seem like one of those cheeseballs who can’t separate his work and private life.

So I’m not going to talk about my employers, or even mention their name. But I will mention that I’ve just finished some promotional cartoons that turned out pretty well. They feature several well-known figures from the tech world, including Vanessa Fox and Robert Scoble; if those names don’t mean anything to you, that’s alright, I’d never heard of them either until I started working on these cartoons.

What else? I’m reading One Day In The Life of Ivan Denisovich right now; it’s great, but I don’t think it’ll give me anything to blog about. But I’ve got some thoughts on Robert Ferrigno’s Prayers for the Assassin, the new Star Trek movie, and the movie criticism of the Weekly Standard‘s John Podhoretz, which I hope to get down soon.

M.

0 Responses to “Blogging into the void.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

